Exodus 14:13: "The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still" ..

So today I got this list of 20 signs your child is gifted … We are parents who are not stuck in labels. We refuse to…! I sometimes hear parents say “my kid is so smart for a kid of her age… or she/he is one of those smart kids than most kids” Really  and this child is just 1-2 -3-4-5 years old…  They haven’t even started school to be tested against kids their age? …  how would we know a 1-2 -3-4-5 years old is smarter than most kids? Aren’t the ‘smart/gifted’ ones usually the top 10% for their age level? So I assume the only way to truly know if your child is ‘gifted/smarter’ is if you are able to compare their abilities with other children. Ohh, look at this, sometimes this kid is a 1st child or even an only child so who are you comparing him/her to– well maybe a couple or 3-4-5  of his/her friends who are just happy and enjoying the innocence of their childhood? Don’t get me wrong off course when you child is in upper grades you could label them as ‘smart/gifted’ or whatever.. it might make sense at this point to throw in those words…

Anyway, I think I just come from a different school of parenting style …what is important at the early stages to us is are our children happy or how gifted are they in helping, caring for other people’s feeling, gifted in obeying their God and the elders?… and in the meantime encourage them in their God given and learned gifts- not just THE labels.

I think, too much pressure is placed on children these days to be smarter than someone else’s child. I am just happy to help develop my children’s learning, creativeness.

Here is the link from Circle of mom… so GO figure! Most kids I have come in contact with are genius if this is all it takes to be a gifted!!

What do you think? Anybody with a child with a special gift like gift of ‘love’ Gift of Respect….

“Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing it is stupid.” -Einstein

Comments on: "Signs Your Child May Be Gifted?" (5)

  1. Anonymous said:

    Well said. Yes there are others who may be on the scale of book smart, but in reality it is how you apply it in real life that matters and I mean morals, values the general “right thing to do”. People have many talents I don’t think labeling as “gifted” based on basic book knowledge is a joke. I can say a machinist is gifted for what they do because there are not that many people who can do what they do and they don’t have a college degree. We can say Obama is gifted because he has a Harvard law degree but some of his desicions are plain stupid (sorry Obama fans)!

  2. LOL at the Obama comment! But so true Harvard doesn’t necessarily mean smart right? I think encouraging and supporting your child to make an effort is just key to me.

  3. Anonymous said:

    I agree with not holding kids to labels however I think parents may get their comparisons during the earlier ages with other kids development as far as : age in which they crawl, walk, talk or potty trained. My daughter said her first sentence at 10 months crawled at 4 and walked at 8 & she continues to outshine her siblings.

    As far as the Obama comment, no matter how smart you are we all have made stupid mistakes but Bush on the other hand can blame his mistakes on his academically proved stupidness.

  4. not gifted said:

    I agree with not holding kids to labels however I think parents may get their comparisons during the earlier ages with other kids development as far as : age in which they crawl, walk, talk or potty trained. My daughter said her first sentence at 10 months crawled at 4 and walked at 8 & she continues to outshine her siblings.

    As far as the Obama comment, no matter how smart you are we all have made stupid mistakes but Bush on the other hand can blame his mistakes on his academically proved stupidness.

  5. I wonder why is it with almost every topic there always manage to be some Obama hate in it hmmmmm & these folks really believe it’s not race based. Yea right!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

