Exodus 14:13: "The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still" ..

You can read the story here:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/yblog_thelookout/20110524/ts_yblog_thelookout/parents-keep-childs-gender-under-wraps#mwpphu-container

So I just reading this on Yahoo and thought I would give my .20 cents which might be worth .5ct in this economy ~ So basically this mom is going to keep her child’s ‘sex’ a secret? Wow! Really this world is getting crazier! Society may assign us gender roles, but doesn’t our genetics assign our sex?  I am all for raising my children to be who they want to be, I would never discourage them from stepping out of their gender roles… If my son wants to cook, clean and bake all day I will let him… my little girl plays with planes, train and super hero’s all day. But despite all that, at their ages, they already identify with their specific genders. Sure, sometimes my son picks the dolls and sometimes my daughter pretends to be superman and that is so great. Children will pick up gender cues from the society, regardless of what us parents intend… you remember that whole “nature verse nurture debate” I let them choose what they want to do but with guidance. But not telling their sex to the loved ones or the community sounds crazy!  I believe it is our job as parent’s to lead and guide our little ones, it’s our God-given responsibility! It truly makes the kiddies happy when they are taught and helped with making their choices – it surely did make me feel happy. They need boundaries, guidelines, rules, consequences and opportunities. Really when they are older and more mature, they can make their own decisions – they have their whole life to make their own decisions…

Also, protecting their kids from the very world they will have to function in and suffer or benefit from for the rest of their lives? Wouldn’t this make them feel like outsiders forever?  This world is harsh as it is….. If they are truly fair-minded – why not let the kids interact with other kids?

But you know what who’s judging?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

