Exodus 14:13: "The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still" ..

My son is turning 3 yaap it’s been 36 months since I hired my self to this job! I have 36 random things, weird, fun stuff I have learned so far as a mother.

  1. I respect my parents and love them in a new way
  2. A bribe Isn’t as bad as the law puts it ( Lollipops have a magical power)
  3. My baby’s pain feels much worse than my own
  4. Phew, true joy doesn’t come from material wealth or titles
  5. Play dates are for my sanity, nothing to do with my babies playing
  6. I sympathize with parents with screaming kids ~ ‘I-know-the-feeling’
  7. Finally I found out the real reason I have these breasts
  8. I would rather buy a plastic toy than shoes and purses that I am dying to have
  9. Sometimes I feel like a cow –mood and food production
  10. I do things I always said I wouldn’t do when I became a parent because it makes my life easier (like having my kids watch TV or eat sugar/cookies)
  11. I quit watching the news – I see every story from a mother’s perspective and it breaks your heart (My heart breaks much more easily)
  12. There is always time for one more hug and kiss even if it means being late ( my excuse for arriving late everywhere)
  13. Nothing is just mine. I share everything!
  14. All I really wanted for one Mother’s Day was some sleep
  15. I think of someone else 24/7/365 times a day
  16. I realized that you can love a complete stranger ~ Do you believe in love at first sight? – have a baby
  17. Full sink of dirty dishes, un-ironed shirts, late dinner, happy kids + happy family = that’s okay
  18. The sacrifices I thought I made to have a child no longer seem like sacrifices
  19. I have little secrets & my  lazy moments, the rest of the world can’t know  ( judged)
  20. Babies, though small, make lots of laundry
  21. NAPS are amazing
  22. I  appreciate Sesame Street for its intellectual input– Yes my kids watch TV
  23. I can have the most brilliant conversation using only vowel “ah” and “oooo.”
  24. Every day is a surprise – even though I laugh at the same jokes over and over
  25. I no longer rely on a clock or watch  — babies now sets the schedule
  26. I  want to take better care of myself for my  child ~ Yes
  27. I look at my babies in the mirror instead of myself
  28. I have become a morning person – not by choice!
  29. There is so much to say about a tooth, little  fingers or toes, poop and dirty diapers
  30. Truth, babies change so fast!
  31. Best thing; my baby falling asleep cuddled up on my chest
  32. Where I once believed I was fearless, I now find myself afraid
  33. 3 oz of weight I can’t seem to get rid of are totally worth having (consolation)
  34. I love life more, Its a true blessing! – everything comes together and becomes better because of one tiny (toothless, drooling)  person/people in my life
  35. I find myself wanting to make this world a better place!
  36. Love can stink (poop, little noses, diapers etc)

Parenting has been the best job ever, It is a great blessing from God and I am thankful to have the opportunity to experience this job — and I know not to take it for granted!  I know some days (feels like MOST)  are crazier than others but I love it. No matter what I have accomplished in life, I look at my child in the eye and think, “I wonder if I do a GREAT job?” (Well I keep telling myself that I am …)

Do you have any random thoughts about Parenting? Lessons?

Comments on: "36 months of motherhood – 36 Random thoughts" (22)

  1. WOW…

    • E, I hope wow, in a good way… it has its downs but I can sit and find 36 good stuff, so it aint that bad!
      Hope you guys had a great Easter!

  2. These are so wonderful Nancy! I can absolutely relate to every one of them!

  3. I love especially #2 and #21! And I’d add that dipping ham slices in yogurt is absolutely fine if it’s what your 19 month old wants to do. 🙂

    • Oh yum ~ protein and calcium, creative!
      She is beautiful and so sweet ~ did you see the B-day pictures? she just sits and watches!…

  4. nancy Kihenia said:

    This is brilliant…..start writing a book….it will come in handy for us future moms and you could make lots of money. You are blessed.

  5. Alice Mafudisho said:

    There is always time for one more hug and kiss even if it means being late………..awwwwwww well spoken!

    Mafu

  6. Leah Mwai said:

    Hey Nancy, I just stumbled upon this and enjoyed reading it, I am not a mum but it was totally inspiring…God bless!
    Leah

    • Thanks Leah ~ thanks for taking time to read it – I know soon you will be able to experience this joy!
      Blessings & stay in touch
      Nancy

  7. Sandra Ogot said:

    so so funny! loved them all despite the fact that I am not a mother….

    • Thanks Sandra for reading. You know Dylan is counting on a playmate (cousin) & girlfriend for Joe mmm…
      love you and miss you
      Nancy

  8. Samira Adam said:

    I will be stalking you if any one of the reasons is not true…enjoyed the blog ! My favorite was # 34…
    Samira

    • Tihihi.. all the 3 and more will become true my dear:)- hold me on that!
      different note, I have a box full of clothes for you (wink-aha)— love yah!!!!

  9. Wanjiru Njuguna said:

    Awww!! loved them all!

    Wanjiru

  10. I feel bad that I did not read your blog earlier!!!! You are funny and good! and I say yes! yes! to many….
    1. I respect my parents and love them in a new way – True!
    2. A bribe Isn’t as bad as the law puts it ( Lollipops have a magical power)- Haha! I will find out later..
    3. My baby’s pain feels much worse than my own – Sure it does!
    6. I sympathize with parents with screaming kids ~ ‘I-know-the-feeling’ – Yes!
    7. Finally I found out the real reason I have these breasts – Yap! Even small one like mine lol
    9. Sometimes I feel like a cow –mood and food production – Yes.
    13. Nothing is just mine. I share everything!
    14. All I really wanted for one Mother’s Day was some sleep – I want that!
    15. I think of someone else 24/7/365 times a day – Yes
    17. Full sink of dirty dishes, un-ironed shirts, late dinner, happy kids + happy family = that’s okay – Yes! I do not care much anymore at least for now.
    20. Babies, though small, make lots of laundry – Oh Yes!
    30. Truth, babies change so fast! – Yes!
    31. Best thing; my baby falling asleep cuddled up on my chest – Love it!
    32. Where I once believed I was fearless, I now find myself afraid
    34. I love life more, Its a true blessing! – everything comes together and becomes better because of one tiny (toothless, drooling) person/people in my life – 🙂 🙂

    • Aki,
      Hilarious, even small ones like mine :)- I love you my friend! She is so precious, she is perfect mix of both of you.
      Nancy

  11. Nyalego,

    Thanks for sharing these…yeah, about baby sitting for you, is it too late to change my mind? LOL!
    Just kidding!!! Anyway, thanks for the heads up. Anything else I need to know????

    Love you lots my dear “great aunt” and can’t wait for the drool and poopy diapers!

    • LOL nyalego, we look foward to you hanging out with the kiddos, it will be fun bondign time… “love stinks” aha!
      we love you!
      with love Great Aunt….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

