Exodus 14:13: "The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still" ..

Forgiveness

I am not one to follow or engage in celebrity gossip or their personal lives (I am always busy changing a diaper or cleaning messes) but the Tiger Wood jokes just got so funny, actually I googled a few. Anyway, I didn’t even know Tiger was making a public apology that morning, but when I clicked on a link of popular stories on yahoo and read his apology. Something bothered me about it, enough to watch it on YouTube.  I was thinking his apology was so rehearsed and sincere in some ways! What bothered me were the expectations of public figures than his real apology.

I must say I sometimes struggle with forgiveness, I mean really petty things or people might bother me and I am sometimes inflexible and even cynical to apologies. I know I should keep reminding myself of Jesus words… “For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.” Easier said…! Also Ephesians 4:31-32 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.(attitude: loving and forgiving just like God forgave you)

Therefore I keep reminding myself it is not in my place to judge other peoples mistakes (sins) and take every apology at face value.  So Tiger’s story is not that different from our own lives or my own. Sin is sin right? Maybe sin is what someone else does but in our own lives, we too often just call it a mistake, mmm… I think we all struggle with some sin . It’s easy to look at someone else and judge them but ignore our even worse sin.

So putting all my heavy cynicism away and normal urge to judge, I am wishing for him and anyone else I haven’t trusted their apology to succeed in rebuilding their lives. I pray for my life that I will always be humble enough to forgive others and to not judge. Psalm 103:8-12 The LORD is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love. He will not always chide, nor will he keep his anger forever. He does not deal with us according to our sins, nor repay us according to our iniquities…..

What do you think; does forgiveness come easy for you?

more verses on forgivess:

http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/bible-verses-about-forgiveness-20-encouraging-scripture-quotes/

Comments on: "Forgiveness" (10)

  1. Hi Nancy! I’m just discovering your blog and love it! What a complex topic! You are right, true forgiveness is tough, because I think if often requires letting go of your own feelings of being treated unfairly. Sometimes you get no personal feeling of resolution. I struggle with forgiveness so much because sometimes doing so makes me feel like a doormat, like I’m just letting people take advantage of me. Some relationships feel like they are nothing but one episode of forgiveness after another, and I wonder what I am getting out of it for me and why do I bother? But at the end of the day, I try to remind myself what kind of person I want to be, and who God wants me to be, and I try to achieve that true forgiveness of the person or the issue (this sometimes takes awhile!). There’s a line from a song, “Forgiveness doesn’t come with a debt.” I try hard to remember that!

    • Dawn,
      Thank you for your input and comment. It’s so complex.. The easiest part is the said part… ‘Let’s forgive’. I know especially when the mistake/sin is repeated over and over… Mmm! I love blogging you should start one and we can get some free therapy from writing 🙂 – I know you are a great writer just from your face book status post. Hey and ‘only’ one more reason to be on the internet….

      Nancy,

  2. The only reason why Public figures are supposed to be held at a higher standard is because the Media needs to sell air time.

    That is why they make such a big fuss about people being Role models who have no business being role models to children today.
    Remember Parents are the greatest ROLE MODELS ever!

    Growing up there were many celebrities who I liked but never once did I dare to imitate them because I knew I had to be held to MY PARENTS/Extended Family’s Standards!

    All these scandals are just to sell Tabloid magazines and Advertisements in Print, Television and Internet Media!

  3. Forgiveness – a word that NEVER featured in the list of my favorite things to do, let alone give much thought too. For a long time, I had a really hard time forgiving until recently when I was faced with the most painful situation in my life. During my trial, I had to forgive the person who had hurt me tremendously and I must admit that doing so revealed to me what true forgiveness is. Forgiveness is always a sticky issue to non-believers, but as Christians we all know that forgiveness is necessary. We don’t forgive because we want to, but out of obedience to God. Therefore, I believe that if someone asks for forgiveness like in the case of Tiger Woods, we have no choice but to accept & take it @ face value and leave the judging to God coz only God knows how contrite Tiger is. If in fact Tiger is just apologizing because he was caught and not because he is truly sorry about his actions, then he is only fooling himself because God knows the truth and can see his heart. I truly believe that if his apology is not sincere, in due time he will slip again and the whole truth will be known by everyone all over again.

    • Linet,Thank you for sharing with me your story….
      Very humbling how you can go thro something huge and be able to forgive but ‘us’ we are still hanging on our small petty stuff reusing to forgive. God bless you and we will earn from you as an example every time we struggle with forgiveness.

  4. Susan Thrun said:

    “I enjoyed reading your blog. I woke up at 2 am with a lot on my mind. Between reading your blog and talking to my dad, I feel much better. My fav- the one about Mompetition. It made me laugh. The one about the purses was really funny too, and the one abut forgiveness, i needed to read that one in lay man’s terms.You know what, I love them all.God bless you :)”

    • Thanks Susan.
      I hope you can get some sleep before baby gets here. Glad you loved my posts – humbling to have funny person like you enjoy my sense of humor.

  5. Hello Nancy, this is very good. Forgiveness is a challange and forgetting is another story. I struggle with forgiving. This past saturday I found myself making a statement I never thought would come from me. Last summer, we had some major mishap with one of our friends, actually one of our youth members in church. Even though the person did not apologize to individuals affected, I chose to forgive the person and move on with life. I did not want to hold a grudge or carry the burdens of the past. So this saturday, some of our youth members were making fun of me being that I am the only one who is not holding a grudge with the the person who offended us. I found myslef saying, I forgave the person and I moved on with my life. I am still good friends with the person and I did not want to live my life thinking of what happened almost a year ago.
    So I think forgiveness is a choise we make despite an apology.
    Cheers.

    • Yvonne
      I am happy for you – strong woman and I will learn from you (one of the best). Thanks and God bless.
      Nancy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

