Exodus 14:13: "The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still" ..

Kenya 2012 – Part I

The Flight: So I left Denver at 6 PM with 3 kids under 4 on a 24 hour flight/ trip to Nairobi. I must say it went OK ( not that i expected anything better…) They fell asleep in-flight at 9PM Denver time and voila! we arrived  Heathrow London ( I don’t like this airport at all…) at 3 AM Denver time… We had to switch aiports, with 3 kids and a carry on and a backpack – some nice, handsome pilots helped me on the train and then I was by myself  for a 45 mins bus ride and check in ( Oh I don’t like this airport)….This is when trouble began.. how do you entertain your kids at an airport for 9 hours layover at this odd time of the day.night? … my mother in law had sent me a care in flight package with an energy shot in it.. so that was helpful.   I had a color book and stickers from Mel which kept them busy for awhile, then Clair gave me calm homeopathic tablets and this helped calm down everyone eventually– after 7 hours of STOP IT! QUIT THAT… they fell asleep and 2 hours latter we boarded for Nairobi….they refused to fall asleep… They played around (aka noise) for 5 hours, made friends and just slept for the last 3 hour… Thank you for all your prayers, we made it to the city under the sun!

Baby Sarah sleeping

Nap at the airport

In flight fun

We arrived Kenya at 6 AM. Oh, I forgot to say, they accidentally checked in my double stroller in Denver all the way to Nairobi – remember I didn’t like London Airport? So we arrive to Nairobi and the stroller is missing… anyway, safe and sound we are ready to enjoy the  fresh air, family, Friends and the sun -

Here introducing my family…. I have 5 siblings, 4 In-laws, 8 nieces and nephews.. gazillion cousins, aunts and uncles – I love it!

Eldest sister Lilian

My siblings from left - Colin, Cliff, Awino and us

My youngest brother Cliff

My loving sister In-law Philly and bro Poly

cousins

Aunt Nancy

Left: My sister in Law Euphie, Brother In Law, My sister Awino, cousin Violet and us

My niece baby Sheryl passed away on February 15th may your soul rest in peace sweet girl. So thankful I got to meet you and hold you.

Kenya is the same, it feels like a vacation but its home.. East or west I guess home is home! … we were all ready to have fun.

snack time - chevra perhaps

Cooling off with Nicole

cousins

Slip and slide

Pool fun

New hair do - in progress...

Our nanny Triza

One of those a must photos at the animal orphanage

Hugs from cousin Violet

Awww... my BFF Joy & her family

Welcome Yummy Cake - Thank you Joy & Family

After the jet lag and a few weeks of resting in Nairobi, we decided to start on our road trips. Its time to go to Alego for some country life.  It was a quick 6 hour trip – after 24 hours in the plane everything seems quick anyway.

Arrived Alego

Shower time

Celebrating the harvest

Back on the road to Eldoret to see a good family friend Marianne and a beautiful drive thro nandi hills and the Kerio valley.   At this point you should think we are getting used to these long road trip but we still get cranky…just love showing off my birth country to my family.

Enjoying the view

The Kerio Valley

Girls -

The boys

week 4;  drove to Imbo to see my maternal grandma and cousins. My grandma is one kind woman, courageous, generous, loving, nurturing, Intelligent, funny, faithful, compassionate.. I could write a whole book on her…

Grandma Dearest

Fire is ready!

Dinner

 

chai and Bread time....

More upcountry pictures…

Hardworking African mama

Herding the cows

Random beautiful kids

Swinging under the Mango tree

Drying our clothes

Chasing the goats

Two Akinyi's - I love these girls!

Fresh Water!

Maji baridi

Cousins

Week six, we are back to Nairobi… resting and swimming. I signed up Joey for Swim lessons so we are just taking it easy, meeting up with more family & friends, a few business and ‘important stuff” here and there… 

Sarah getting so big

New baby - Friends from High School :)- love you girls!

Play station time

Our drive back to Nairobi

Swim classes

So week seven; My baby is here! Yes Mark got in safe – thank you again for all the prayers. Mark got in at 11PM after the kids were in bed , so in the morning, it was lots of screaming, hugs and kisses from the kids.

`

We took many trips around including going back to the village, he went back hills hiking…then to see my grandma again…

My kids want a bunny? these were $2 a piece

A monkey on our car... Africa!

View Point

Date night with childhood girlfriend Trixie and her husband Henry...

Date night with my friend Joy & her hubby Albert

Just taking it easy enjoying daddy and playing catch up. we took a trip to lake Nakuru National park.

We drove up to Kajiado to see our Compassion sponsor child Naiserian. Her beautiful laugh, smile just warmed our hearts. So thankful to God we can experience this rare opportunity with you – God bless you.

Visiting Naiserian, her brother and mom

Naiserian School

Love

My Africa! cows and zebra grazing together....

Giraffes on the road - our drive home

Week 8 is here…. we are getting ready to fly back to America (never mind, we have decided to stay another 5 weeks)—-Its my birthday this week, a passion fruit cake was ordered :)- and saying goodbyes to my hubby dearest (tears….)

Family picture.....

Birthday cake

samosa time...

Well I am so thankful for all the support, prayers, emails, skype, text messages and phone calls – I miss you all my other friends and family in America and the world. God bless.

love,

Nancy

Comments on: "Kenya 2012 – Part I" (39)

  1. Oh Nancy! These pictures are just so beautiful! And I hope you had a wonderful birthday. I am just loving that giraffe in the middle of the road! :) That’s so awesome. Can’t wait to see you when you get back!

  2. Nancy – what an amazing life! So glad that you can enjoy it to the fullest with your family. Miss you lots and look forward to seeing you again!

  3. Hey. Wow.. Love that you r having a good time. Hee the kids look like they r having an even better time.kweli unakaa kama mwenyeji sana…miss yah

  4. Anonymous said:

    Nance,
    Thanks for sending…it’s lovely to see you and those beautiful kids having such a great time! Charley says she really misses her baby Sarah! She loved seeing the photos and had lots of “why’s?” (like every picture!) she says she really wants to play with you all. Xoxox

  5. We’re loving the giraffe in the road, too! What an amazing trip!! Are you really staying another FIVE weeks?! How awesome. Enjoy, and know we’re praying for your trip home. Miss you guys!

    • Jenny, just 2 and half weeks to go! I miss my house and my friends. Lets get together as soon as I step in. love you!

  6. Great pictures! Can’t wait to see you and to hug those grandbabies! Have a safe journey when you return. Mark is coming to Moab in a couple of weeks and we’ll try to take good care of him for you. :)

  7. Anonymous said:

    Wow looks so amazing! Can’t wait to hear all about it. Love you

  8. The pics are amazing, thanks for sharing. Brings back good memories! Nice to see Joy and Khadija doing well.

    So glad you are having a blast. The plucking feathers of the kuku photo that was the bomb. It’s good to show kids where their food comes from.

  9. Anonymous said:

    Nancy wow what trip u did good. I miss fresh Mango’s Mark I love samosas. have great rest of the trip. as for London heathrow how did u eve managed the tube and terminal. when kids were little we made use of the hospitality room. it depends on what air line u fly. be careful coming back

    • It was crazy in London.. I never fly thro London for that reason the tube and terminal but they had the cheapest tickets this time around — I loveee mangoes too

  10. Anonymous said:

    Nancy dear, I am humbled! The exposure you have given the kids is a treasure! Keep safe these photos…. You are wonderful dear and that’s the reason the Almighty continues to bless you and family! Forever in my prayers! Love you and miss you all!

  11. I cannot wait to go through all the details…..your kids had a good time back home esp Joey…love him at “Ngujunguju” – the water pump…

  12. zukowskico said:

    Nancy! You are positively beaming in every picture! It must be a wonderful trip. Your pictures are wonderful! I love the giraffes in the road and the picture of Joey with the birds in the background. I go to the zoo to see these animals, you have them are right there in your home country! I am sorry we won’t see you until May, but enjoy your time there! I can’t wait to see more pictures and hear your stories!

    • Thanks Lynese – I feel the pain paying $12 at the zoo sometimes coz I can see animals for free in Kenya. Miss you

  13. Anonymous said:

    Hey Nancy,
    Love the way you’ve put this together..love the picture with the kids plucking the feathers from the Chicken for dinner…I know you are having too much fun…you deserve it gal. By the way Henry is also there but he comes back on Monday the 2nd. My sister Faith told me that she talked to you. Anyways, thanks for the update can’t wait to see more..
    God Bless,
    Ciru

  14. Nancy,
    Thank you for sending, what a beautiful family you have! So the kiddos had fun? We want to go visit Hernan’s family in Argentina; I’ll have to ask you for travel tips!
    -Bonnie

  15. This fantastic! Thanks for including us. What an amazing trip for the kids and both of you! We hope to see you later this summer and hear more about it.

    Love to you all, Lee

  16. These pics make me want to visit! What a cool place, and you are one cool mamma to make it happen for your family:-) So glad Mark finally made it, too! What do the kiddos think of the whole experience?
    Miss you, Liz

    • Lizzie, I hope you and the family can take a safari trip to Kenya someday. work it in in your schedule. Congrats to Alex on the job.. I hope that mean Colorado in the future.

  17. Cindy Smigay said:

    Great pictures Nancy! Looks like you are having a great time. We sure do miss you!

  18. Oanh Hau Kohn said:

    Amazing photos! What a unique experience for your children! I’m sure your family wants you to stay forever. :) I hope your travels continue to be blissful. Just forget about the part at the airports. ;)

    • I will try to forget about London and maybe think about it only when we get there again in 2 weeks. Thanks, I love seeing Violet getting so big.

  19. Nancy, I love all the pictures and your stories!!! Glad Mark made it there and back home!! What a wonderful experience. Enjoy!!! Give the kids lots of xoxo’s! Love to all!!

  20. Jen Barker Jolly said:

    Looks like you’re having a great time! Amazing pictures!

    • Jen,
      Thank you so much.. I cant wait to get back so we do a night out and talk about the good baby stuff. congrats! thinking about you always.

      nancy

  21. [...] I posted pictures of our 1st part of the trip here   and Mark made a video you can view it here.. After Mark left I had moments of ‘ticket [...]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

