Exodus 14:13: "The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still" ..

Dilemma – Child proofing

So, is it even acceptable to lock your kids in their room? Tragic; My kids 4 and 2 years old have taken it upon them to get out of bed when we are still sleeping, get downstairs… Push the chair to the door, unlock the door chains and take off on their bike! I was super terrified at 7 am to find a house with no kids. I didn’t even know what to do on Saturday morning when my husband said ‘the kids are gone’… I thought “Oh No, where?” all the crazy stuff started going thro my head, I was crying- understatement… I was wailing! We are blessed we lived in a street where we know all our neighbors plus the neighbors on the other streets, so instead of the police & Social Services coming to our doors it was the ever nice, caring neighbors. I thought I was not to prepare for sneaking out until teenage year yet – sigh!

I really wondered what happened to the old good days when or he came into my room and told me good morning and gives me kisses?

Anyway, that evening we were having a few fun friends over for dinner and someone suggested locking them in their room. Lock them in till they are ready to abide by the rules of the house” It made sense… what if they go downstairs and start a fire etc — Its sounds cruel… Does it? But thinking about it’s no different than if he were in a crib and couldn’t get out. If there was a fire the child would not know what to do, right?  I have also thought of a baby monitor but this lil engineer with tear it apart! I know In a perfect world, all mom’s should pounce up energetic and ready to go at 5am before the kiddos get up, but the reality of life isn’t that way. Some mornings you we all just need that extra three minutes… :)-

Any other advice parent out there ? Anybody with a sneaking toddler?

Comments on: "Dilemma – Child proofing" (6)

  1. Nancy,

    I can only imagine the fear in your heart when you awoke to no kiddos!! Just a little insider info…Kyler enjoys the gate at his door…still. We started doing it when we moved him to a toddler bed because I was fearful he would walk out of his room and fall down the stairs, etc. We just started to not put up the gate at his door. I don’t know if your kiddos climb so this might not even be a possibility but if they don’t climb you could just put a gate outside each kiddos doors when they go to bed?!?! Or add a chain lock at the VERY top of the door??? Good luck!!!

    • Missy – Thank you girl… We are moving the chain way up! Yes they are climbers so the gate will not work… we don’t even use it don’t stair coz baby girl H. Just used to climb on it to get up to the stairs. So do you have a chain on your glass door too? I was thinking we might need double chains… Thank you for your helpful information.

      • I know..most kids are climbers! For some reason Kyler just never did!! WE have a tall baby gate so maybe it’s more intimidating to climb than the shorter ones?!?! Madelynn, on the other hand, is a climber but hasn’t mastered the gates yet!! We don’t have the chains but we did buy them at one point and for some reason I couldn’t install them because our door frame isn’t completely flush/flat and for some reason I think it had to be?!?! We have a house alarm though that we set every nap and night time so that if the door does open the alarms go off. So that’s our solution and savior for kids escaping the house problem. I know they are costly but if you’re interested I could see if the company that installed ours would cut a deal…we can chat today at playgroup if you’re there :)
        Good luck and let us know what you found worked for you!!

  2. Nancy – I was so shocked to read that your kiddos snuck out. You are very lucky that the neighbours found them in time. My grandmother says to never lock the kids because they can develop some serious permanent fears when they are locked in; hence I was never locked in.
    I suggest that you talk to Joe; he is a big boy and will probably understand your concerns. As a big brother he needs to know that he has to take care of his younger siblings. He needs to know that streets are dangerous and there are cars on the road.
    If it happens again you can install an alarm or even put an additional lock on the door really high. Perhaps even put a lock with a key that you take to your room at night. Stores even have gadgets that you can install on the door and they beep when the door opens just like an alarm but does not report to the police and have no monthly charges. You can even hide their bikes for a while as a way to punish them. But best of all I think would be to chat with Joey and hope he realizes the dangers associated with them being outside without supervision.

    • Sam – Thank you so much.. I think taking his bike away has worked. We have talked to him, I jutst don’t trust he won’t do it again….I have looked at a tone of the alarn systems online and I think we will definitely get one. Thanks for the information – very helpful.. It sounds cruel to lock them in their room but now I know it could also pose serious physiological problems, I still get nightmare at the thought of that Saturday morning…

  3. I have a 3 year old and a 1 year old. Together they will open the refrigerator and freezer and pull food out. My kids can get out of control when we are asleep. They know better then to go outside, but there is enough in the house that scares me. I lock the door and there is a baby monitor. And fire detectors everywhere. I have heard about the “emotional damage,” but my mother locked me in when I was out of control and she did that to my sister. We are fine. Sometimes you have to do what you can to keep them safe. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

